Ad Altare Dei Counselor Guide Book

SKU: 430-12-123AADCG

This includes only the Pope Pius XII Counselor's Guide book.

Before you begin:

  1. You must be a trained Religous Emblem Counselor to assist the youth in completing this faith building program. Click here to check out the dates we offer Relgious Emblem Training.
  2. Please complete and submit the Intent to Begin Application on our website. Click here to begin the application.

This product includes only the Ad Altare Dei Counselor's Guide.

What: This program helps you to see Jesus Christ as part of your daily life as well as develop a fully Christian way of life in a faith community. The program is based on the seven sacraments.

When: The program could take about 6 to 8 months. It was initiated 1945 and was the first religious program of any kind for Boy Scouts. Since 1964, when CYC began administrating the program, over 8116 boys have earned this award.

Who: Anyone interested in completed this program can participate. Before beginning this program the youth must have completed the sixth grade. The work is done with a trained Religious Emblem Counselor. Contact your leader or the office of Catholic Scouting for a list of counselors.

Requirements: All steps in this program must be completed before presenting yourself to the Catholic Committee on Scouting, Review Board.

Some of the chapters include:

  1. Sacraments and Sacramentals in our daily lives: The goal of this chapter is to recognize the signs of faith in your daily life, and their importance.
  2. Baptism: The goal of this chapter is to discover how Baptism is the start of your life in Christ, and a covenant union with God.
  3. Confirmation: The goal of this chapter is to discover the role of the Holy Spirit in your daily life.
  4. Eucharist: The goal of this chapter is to explore how the Eucharist unites you with your Christian past, and strengthens you for the present and the future.
  5. Reconciliation: The goal of this chapter is grow in understanding God’s unconditional love through the gift of forgiveness and in the Sacrament of Reconciliation.
  6. Anointing of the Sick: The goal of this chapter is to grow in understanding the Church’s healing ministry to the sick, and the Christian attitude toward suffering and illness.
  7. Holy Orders: The goal of his chapter is to investigate how ordination helps individuals grown in holiness and witness Christ’s love through their ministerial service to the people to God.
  8. Marriage: The goal of this chapter is to investigate how Marriage helps spouses to grow in holiness and to witness Christ’s love, through each other and their family.

When all chapters are completed, please visit the Office of Catholic Scouting website for a calendar of important dates, including Board of Review dates, Presentation Sundays, retreats, Day of Recollection, etc.

Click here to view our calendar of events.